All students at Rednock School study a core curriculum which includes English, Maths, Science, Physical Education, Digital Literacy and Life Skills & Ethics.  This leads to the award of a minimum of 5 GCSE qualifications in:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Maths
  • Science (Two GCSEs)

Life Skills & Ethics, Digital Literacy and Physical Education are non-examined subjects.

Selected students will also study qualifications in Level 1 English Functional Skills and Entry Level Certificates in Science and Maths. These qualifications provide appropriate academic challenge, time to consolidate foundation knowledge and the opportunity for students to experience success as they build up towards sitting the core GCSE qualifications.

In addition to the core curriculum, most students will study a further 4 subjects from a broad selection of GCSE and vocational qualifications.  As part of the Year 9 options process, students are advised which subjects best suit their skills and support their desired progression pathway.

Option Subjects available:

Please click here to view the KS4 Options Booklet for 2024-2026.

Click here to view the presentation from the KS4 Options Information Evening 2024.

Click here to access the options form.


A small number of students study 3 option subjects and complete an alternative study programme called ‘STEP UP’ during the 4th option curriculum time.  As part of their studies, students work towards a skills based qualification, ASDAN Personal Development Programme – Bronze level.  This programme helps develop students’ teamwork and communication skills to support their transition into the world of work.

We also work with a number of external providers to provide a bespoke curriculum as required e.g. Prospects Training Services, Bridge Training.

Time allocation (in hours per fortnight) for each subject in Key Stage 4:

SubjectYear 10Year 11
English8 hrs8 hrs
Mathematics7 hrs8 hrs
Science9 hrs9 hrs
Physical Education3 hrs3 hrs
Digital Literacy1 hrs0 hrs
Life Skills and Ethics2 hrs2 hrs
Option Choice A5 hrs5 hrs
Option Choice B5 hrs5 hrs
Option Choice C5 hrs5 hrs
Option Choice D5 hrs5 hrs
Total Hours50 hrs50 hrs

Key Stage 4 Curriculum Guides 

SubjectHead of DepartmentAdditional InfoCurriculum Guide
GCSE Art & DesignMr A Wallis Guide
GCSE BiologyMr C Griffiths Guide
GCSE Business StudiesMr I Cole Guide
GCSE ChemistryMr C Griffiths Guide
GCSE Combined ScienceMr C Griffiths Guide
GCSE Computer ScienceMr R Wells Guide
GCSE Design & TechnologyMrs K Nelmes Guide
GCSE English Language and English LiteratureMrs S Melville Brown Guide
GCSE GeographyMr M McCarthy Guide
GCSE HistoryMr M McCarthy Guide
GCSE MathematicsMr M Hatch Guide
GCSE Modern Foreign Languages (French, German and Spanish)Mr S Carter Guide
 GCSE Music Mr J Andrews Year 10 ONLY Guide
GCSE Philosophy & EthicsMiss L Harris Guide
GCSE PhotographyMr A Wallis
GCSE Physical EducationMr A Sykes Guide
GCSE PhysicsMr C Griffiths Guide
BTEC Digital Information TechnologyMr R Wells Guide
BTEC Tech Award Health & Social CareMr J Mitchell Guide

Cambridge National Enterprise & Marketing

Mr I ColeGuide
Cambridge National Sport StudiesMr A Sykes Guide
Vocational Award Hospitality & Catering Mrs K Nelmes   Guide
Level 1 Functional Skills EnglishMrs S Melville Brown Guide
Entry Level Certificate MathsMr H Pugh Guide
Entry Level Certificate ScienceMr C Griffiths  
Lifeskills & EthicsMr W SandersNon examined subjectGuide
Computing & Digital LiteracyMr R WellsNon examined subjectGuide
Core PEMr A SykesNon examined subjectGuide
STEP UP ProgrammeMrs K ColeInvitation only. Non examined subject but leads to certification of students’ skills.Guide

Grading for GCSE and Vocational qualifications explained

In 2017, the grading of GCSE qualifications changed from a system of letter grades (A* to G) to numbered grades (9 to 1 – with 9 being the highest grade).  Please use this link for more details on the revised grading system.


Vocational courses do not use the same grading system of 9 – 1 like GCSEs. Instead they use a pass, merit, distinction grading system. The equivalence between these and GCSEs (old and new) are shown below.